Reset

Good night World Wide Web!It’s been a while since I put a pen to paper; or rather fingers to an iPad. I allowed life to consume me and as a result my passion was left to slip by the wayside. But July is the month to reset. July marks six months into the year, as well as signifying the six months left in the year to accomplish what ever it is you’ve set out to do. I’ve lost sight of my goal to write everyday, along with quite a few other goals in the preceding months. However, upon reassessing my goals and hitting reset, I’m back and better than ever.

July marks six months.

Six months gone.

Six months remaining.

Six months of time I’ve been waisting.

Procrastination, my old middle school chum

your forté is making people feel like a bum.

Time is a tickin and it feels like life is passing me by.

Disappointment rising so rapidly I could cry.

Instead I’ll wipe my tears and swallow all my fears.

I’ll put on my big girl panties and make the decision

to press on and go forth in order to attain my ideal vision.

Knowing this is not a task for the unmotivated, or those with cold feet

this July I’m hitting reset, I will not accept defeat.

Imma keep on climbing this steep steep hill because of the future I’m trying my damnedest build.

A vividly painted picture detailing what I want life to be:

a home, a husband and a beautiful black family.

White picket fences, comfort and travel

fine wines, ballets, and the free time to play Scrabble.

The ability to provide my future children with the same if not a better life than that was afforded to me; educational free reign, sports and activities.

Science Centre excursions and trips to Metro Toronto Zoo

Dance, karate, piano and swimming lessons too.

When I set out these goals I knew it wouldn’t be a simple task

and that concept can sometimes be hard a little to grasp.

Goal setting, goal failing, goal resetting.

July marks six months.

Six months gone.

Six months left.

Six months in 2015 to do my best.

Knibblettes

Leave a comment